Museum History

Jai Vilas Palace was built in 1874 by Maharaja Jayajirao Scindia. It is an architectural marvel combining Italian, Corinthian and Tuscan styles. A wing of the Jai Vilas Palace was converted into a museum in memory of Srimant Jiwajirao Scindia by the late Rajmata Shrimant Vijayaraje Scindia. Then president of India H.E. Dr. Sarvapally Radhakrishnan opened the H.H.Maharaja Sir Jiwajirao Scindia Museum to the public on December 12th, 1964.

The H.H.Maharaja Sir Jiwaji Rao Scindia Museum offers to the public a unique view of the palace created in the 19th and 20th century and focuses on various arts and crafts that grew and reached their zenith under the patronage of the royal family. The museum aims to provide a viable space for the expansion of knowledge through research and sharing.

The late Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, then President of India, arriving at Jai Villas Palace for the official opening of the H.H Maharaja Sir Jiwaji Rao Scindia Museum on 12th December, 1964.
Dr. Radhakrishnan walking through the main entrance alongside the late Rajmata Shrimant Vijaya Raje Scindia of Gwalior.
Dr. Radhakrishnan admiring the miniatures and photographs of the museum collection.
Dr. Radhakrishnan viewing the famous Durbar Hall.
Dr. Radhakrishnan giving his opinions in the visitor book.